Skip to content

Whole Foods Family Fun Run 5K

January 22, 2012

This morning Spade and I joined over 400 other runners for a 5K sponsored by Whole Foods Market in Roseville. This is the first time I have run an official race with Spade, and while I wasn’t exactly trying to PR, we were’t lollygagging either. We completed the first mile in a time of 8:08 and were cruising right along until Spade suddenly had to do his business around mile 1.5. Fortunately, there was a garbage can along the course about a 100 feet away.

We finished the race with an official chip time of 26:19. Considering we lost about 30 seconds with the pit stop, and my PR is 25:27, that’s pretty good. I finished 79th overall and 8th in my age division, but I’m pretty sure Spade was the first dog to cross the finish line. At least that’s my story, and I’m stickin’ to it!

Spade and I met up with several friends from my running group

Spade showing off his "Official Spokesdog" bandanna and finisher's medal

For more information about The Jogging Dog, visit my website.

From → Jogging Dogs, Races

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

