Skip to content

The Story of Samson

March 7, 2012

Samson has a bone to pick with me. Ever since starting The Jogging Dog blog, the dogs have been getting all the attention. So it’s time to show a little kitty-love and tell you the story of how Samson came into my life.

In the spring of 2010 I was working as a seasonal fire fighter, when I decided to bring my bike to work one week and check out a local trail on the way home. As I pulled into the trail head parking lot, I noticed a black cat sitting by one of the cars. As I got out of my car, this friendly little guy came right up to me, talking non-stop. As I reached down to pet him, it was obvious he had been out there a while, as he had several engorged ticks attached to him.

There are no houses for miles along this stretch of highway, so it was unlikely he was a resident cat. More than likely, someone had dumped him. How anyone could dump such a nice cat is beyond me. So, I made him a deal. I told him if he was still there at the end of my ride I would take him home and find him some place to live. Needless to say, there he was when I came back, waiting by my car. When I opened up the car door, he jumped right in as if to say “Let’s go!”

After I got him home, I gave him a bath, which he tolerated quite well. I took him to the vet for a check-up only to find out he was FIV positive. My vet informed me that if I took him to a shelter he would most likely be euthanized. I couldn’t bear the thought of a perfectly healthy and friendly cat being put down, so I contacted all of the cat rescues in the area. They were all full and unable to take him, but one rescue gave me a voucher for neutering and vaccinations, and listed him on their website.

Several weeks went by with no interest from potential adopters. During that time he settled in quite nicely into our household, and got along great with the dogs. So, I made the decision to officially make him a part of the family. It’s my opinion that Samson is actually a dog trapped in a cat’s body, as he is one of the friendliest cats I’ve ever met. When people come over, he immediately jumps into their lap looking for attention.

More proof that Samson is a dog trapped in a cat's body.

Although I have owned cats in the past, I hadn’t intended to get one for a while due to my job. However, I don’t regret keeping him one bit. I think the feeling is mutual. 🙂

Samson makes a good foot warmer on cold winter nights.

From → Jogging Dogs

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

