Skip to content

Welcome home Zola!

September 11, 2012

Between a busy schedule and life getting a little hectic, I haven’t had much time to blog lately. So, I will do my best to catch you all up on the latest news over the course of this week. Of course, the biggest, and perhaps most shocking news is that Zola is home! For those who don’t know, Zola was a puppy I raised for Guide Dogs for the Blind, Inc. She went in for her formal training in August, and after much waiting she was finally placed with a visually impaired student last week. My co-raiser and I were both very proud of Zola and excited to see her at graduation. However, during the course of their training together, Zola displayed some behavior that is inappropriate for a guide. While she certainly showed that she could do the job, she also demonstrated that she didn’t really WANT to. So, she was career changed and my co-raiser and I went to pick her up on Saturday.

Zola is happy to see her old friends again

Zola after an early morning swim at the lake. She’s a natural retriever!

Zola is staying with me for a short while until her new family is ready to take her. They will be very lucky to have such a sweet, calm and well behaved dog as part of their family. In the meantime, I am enjoying having her around again. Fortunately I am very close with her new family and will get to see her often.

If you’re interested in learning more about becoming a puppy raiser for Guide Dogs for the Blind, please contact them at 800-295-4050.

From → Jogging Dogs

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

